sea-view_wexford_2017

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all had a great Christmas break with family and friends. I had such a nice and relaxing break, topped off with a few days in Wexford for New Year’s taking in some fab sea views.

Now that we’re at the start of 2017, I know a lot of people are into making new year resolutions. To be honest none of these have ever really stuck for me. I think a lot of the time they are a bit of a fad and usually difficult to maintain, like a drastic change in diet. I’m all for people trying to live happier and healthier lives and if your 2017 resolution is to start going to the gym, eating healthier, etc. then that is great and I wish you the very best of luck! But for me, I find smaller goals work when it comes to new year’s resolutions. So if you are of a similar mindset, below are some of the goals I have set myself for the year ahead.

Stress less

At times, I can be a notorious worrier so this is something I’d really like to work on this year. I’ve tried to stress less in the past just by simply telling myself to relax more, but most of the time it doesn’t work. However, recently when I’m worrying about something I’ve tried to take a step back and ask myself “Why exactly are you worrying?” Most of the time I focus on a worry that is quite small in the grand scheme of things, so if you can try to put any stresses you have into perspective of your overall life, a lot of the time the worry can be unnecessary. An example of mine is that we recently had an electrical issue with the lights in our new apartment. It happened just before Christmas and we knew an electrician wouldn’t be able to look at it until the New Year, so it was niggling at me in the back of my mind. But when this worry came into my head I just asked myself “Why are you worrying? This is a problem that can and will be fixed, it just can’t be done right now” I wasn’t even in the apartment over the Christmas break so once I put things into perspective, this worry became much smaller and I totally forgot about it for a few days. Now I’m back in the apartment and the issue is being sorted this week, yay!

Travel more

Now, with a full-time job and going to college part-time my version of travel will be different to other people’s. I’m quite career-focused so don’t plan on spending a year travelling the globe. What I would like to do is go on more weekend breaks when I can afford it, and hopefully take a few weeks off in the summer to go on a big adventure holiday (location TBC). I’m pleased to say that I’m starting off the year well with this resolution as my boyfriend and I are going to Edinburgh at the end of the month for a long weekend! It’s not too far away, is somewhere I’ve never had the chance to properly explore and most importantly for me at the moment, it doesn’t cost a lot to get there.

beach_amy_2017Me, feeling pretty zen on a lovely walk in Wexford on New Year’s Day (side-note: loving my new coat I got in the M&S sale!)

Keep up the good work

2016 was a weird year, but looking back I had a pretty good one. I completed a big charity cycle for the second year in a row (getting fitter in the process), I finally started blogging (woo!), enrolled in an MSc course in Marketing (which is hard work, but will be worth it in the end) and I have a pretty great group of family and friends who are always there for me and often remind me how awesome I am – joking! Kind of 😉 So, if you are considering some new year’s resolutions, that is great! But don’t forget that who you are right now is pretty great too ❤️

