For those of you that have been following my blog over the past few of months, you will know that I recently made the decision to have laser eye surgery. It’s now been almost three months since I had my surgery at Optilase, so I thought an update was due on how I’m finding life without glasses. Hopefully this post will also be of help to anyone who is on the fence about having laser eye surgery!

amy-glasses-selfieMy last selfie as a spectacled gal!

I have to say that there are a lot of pros to having laser eye surgery, the first one being how quickly I got used to life without specs. After having my surgery I expected to miss my glasses for a couple of weeks because I have been wearing them for so long, but I got used to not wearing glasses almost immediately. While there were a couple of mornings when I woke up and started reaching out for my specs when I was still half-asleep, I remembered quickly enough that I didn’t need my glasses and it was a pretty nice feeling remembering that I now have 20/20 vision!

great-dublin-bike-rideAll smiles towards the end of our spin

In terms of exercise, it’s great not having to worry about glasses or contacts. I cycle regularly and my first big test after surgery was the Great Dublin Bike Ride in September. I didn’t do much exercise the few weeks after my procedure; I was under strict instructions from the clinic not to do any exercise at all the first seven days and decided to take it a bit easy for a couple more weeks. As I hadn’t exercised much beforehand I did the 60km route with one of my friends and really enjoyed it. All I had to wear was a pair of sunglasses that I could whip off if I needed to.

By the end of the cycle I was a bit dehydrated which affected my eyes. Because they were already drier than normal from surgery they felt a bit sore after the cycle, but once I put in some moisturising drops they felt a lot better. This wouldn’t happen regularly when I’m cycling, I think because it was about three weeks after my surgery my eyes were still recovering. I had my month check-up at Optilase the following week and mentioned it to my optometrist who said this can happen after surgery and that my eyes were still on the mend, but healing well. I wouldn’t put this down as a reason not to have surgery, but I would say that people need to be aware that exercising can take its toll on you for a few weeks after the procedure, taking one week off doesn’t mean you’re good to get back into strenuous exercise straight away. Also if you play contact sports such as hockey or basketball, the recovery period is longer – I think you can’t play any sports like this for about a month.

Something that’s important to bear in mind when considering laser eye surgery is setting aside enough time for your recovery. I had LASIK eye surgery which is promoted by a lot of clinics as a quick and pain free procedure, which it is, but after surgery I think you need to give yourself plenty of rest. I was off work for two days after my surgery and I honestly don’t think it was enough time to recover properly, especially as I work in front of a computer screen all day. After two days in work I felt completely exhausted and just wanted to go home and get some sleep. I chatted to a friend of mine about this and she said that the Valium I had before surgery (which is offered by most clinics to help you relax) likely contributed to my tiredness as well. So if you’ve decided that you want to have laser eye surgery, I’d suggest booking in at a time when you don’t have a lot on and do try book a few days off work if you can, especially if you have a desk job!

So, should you have laser eye surgery? All in all I would say that the pros of having laser eye surgery outweigh the cons. While everyone is different and laser eye surgery is not guaranteed to work for everyone, my experience has been a very positive one and I would encourage people to take the leap if they are considering it!

