Another year, another Electric Picnic added to my festival belt! My body has recovered from my few nights of camping last week and I had a really great weekend checking out some brilliant performances and soaking up the festival vibes with my friends.

Of course, as I live in Ireland, you can never be guaranteed great weather at a festival and sadly last weekend was no exception. While Friday was a cracking day, there was heavy rain for parts of Saturday and Sunday. I was constantly keeping an eye on the weather forecast the week leading up to the festival, so I was prepared as possible with all of my clothes and camping equipment that I brought.

I bought myself an Orla Kiely four man tent for the weekend. There was only two of us camping in the tent so we had a good amount of space which is great, and the tent was also waterproof. This was SO good as there was torrential rain on Saturday morning, so we were able to stay nice and dry in our tent as the rain pelted down. I also brought a cheap blow up mattress for some extra comfort – I’m past the days of sleeping straight on the ground! 😉

Some of my key wardrobe pieces for the weekend was my North Face rain jacket, wellies (obviously) and my Repeal the 8th t-shirt. It was great seeing so many people wearing Repeal jumpers and tees over the weekend, and I got a few thumbs up from random people I walked by when I was wearing mine!

While I initially wasn’t blown away by the headline acts when they were announced for Electric Picnic, I have so many great musical highlights from the weekend.


Le Galaxie performing on the Other Voices stage

LCD Soundsystem headlined the Main Stage on Saturday night and they were amazing, as were Le Galaxie, Jack Garratt and Jenny Greene’s DJ set with The RTÉ Concert Orchestra. A few other faves from my weekend were The Chemical Brothers, James Bay and Savages; a punk band who I wasn’t familiar with and wouldn’t usually be my style, but their energy on stage was unbelievable!

What I love about Electric Picnic is that there is something for everyone, the arts side of the festival is just as interesting as the music. On Saturday I went along to the Mind Field area and watched a discussion panel for the Soundings podcast that included Sharon Horgan and Aisling Bea. It was great to hear some inspirational stories within an intimate setting at such a big Irish festival.

Were you at Electric Picnic? If you were I hope you enjoyed it as much as me! So much so I’ve already bought my tickets for next year… 🙂

A great weekend made all the better with great friends!x

