IMG_8399My essentials for the week, eye drops and shades!

Last weekend I had my laser eye surgery in Optilase and I am so glad that I did. Within just one day I went from having pretty poor eyesight to near 20/20 vision! I’ve had a couple of questions relating to my procedure, so I thought I would go through my prep and how I’ve been getting on in my first week post-surgery.

In terms of pre-surgery prep, I didn’t have to do a whole lot. I tried to stay as hydrated as possible before surgery as the procedure does temporarily make your eyes very dry. I work in an air-conditioned office, sitting in front of a computer for most of the day, so I was a bit worried that my eyes could feel uncomfortable in work after the surgery. To try and avoid any unnecessary discomfort with my eyes I drank lots of water leading up to my surgery and I also took Omega 3 (fish oil) supplement tablets. My optometrist recommended I take these before and after surgery as they help with dry eyes.

I also didn’t wear make up for a couple of days leading up to my surgery, which was recommended to me by the Optilase clinic. I know that this can be an issue for some people and there have been times when I don’t feel comfortable leaving the house without make up on, especially when my skin is not great. But I wanted to make sure I was as ready as possible for the eye surgery, so going make up free for a few days didn’t bother me too much. Plus I can’t wear eye make up for 10 days post-surgery, so I figured I may as well get used to it!

On the day of my surgery I won’t lie, I was very nervous. But everyone in Optilase was so nice, from the receptionist who signed me in, the lady (also called Amy ) who took me for my pre-surgery scans and the surgical team who looked after me when I went in for my procedure. They did their very best to put me at ease which I really appreciated.

I had Lasik eye surgery, one of the most common eye surgery procedures and it was completely pain free. My eyes were numbed with anaesthetic drops so I didn’t feel a thing, to be honest I wasn’t totally sure when the laser was at my eye! I was also offered a valium to help me relax a bit, which I decided to take. So while things started out a bit scary, once the procedure began and I realised how painless it was I relaxed and it was over in minutes. The surgery takes about 7 minutes per eye but it actually felt like less than that to me. Afterwards the surgeon had one more check over my eyes and then I was on my way home. For anyone considering surgery, you absolutely need a lift home as you are very tired after the surgery and your eyes are extremely sensitive to sunlight – I put on sunglasses before I even left the clinic.

FullSizeRender (10)My super slick protective goggles 😉 and a little gift my dad picked up for me after surgery, I’m a sucker for Disney teddies!

For a few hours at home my eyes felt quite uncomfortable and sensitive and they were also very watery for a couple of hours; I also felt exhausted. I got home at around 1pm, went to bed and was in and out of sleep until about 7 that evening. By the time I woke up I was feeling much better, my eyes were still sensitive but I didn’t have to be in a very dark room, I just wore sunglasses that evening inside. I actually picked up a really nice pair of Ray Bans when I was on holidays in Dubrovnik, so they’ve been an essential for me this week! 

Since Saturday I’ve been following my post-care instructions from the clinic – using all of my eye drops, wearing sunglasses outdoors and protective goggles at night so I don’t touch my eyes; no eye make up, and drinking plenty of water. At the moment my eyes look a bit bloodshot – this is bruising from the surgery and it will fade within a couple of weeks, I think it’s already improved since the weekend.

I had my first check up on Monday, everything is going smoothly and my eyes are healing very well from the surgery. I’ve been back in work since Tuesday and my eyes are feeling quite tired at the end of each day, but that it is normal at this stage. I’m hoping by next week my eyes will be used to being in front of the computer screen again. It’s actually amazing when you think about how quickly I returned to work after having such a life-changing surgery!

So, do I have any regrets? Not a one. Would I recommend eye surgery to anyone considering it? Absolutely.

If anyone has any questions that I didn’t answer in this post, feel free to comment below!

