img_8334

Last weekend I paid a flying visit to London to visit one of my friends. I always love a trip to London and having one of my besties over there gives me a great excuse for a visit!

I’ve been to London quite a few times as it’s so easy to get to from Dublin (I’ve even done one day shopping trips in the past), so I’ve covered a lot if the main tourist “To Do’s” like the London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Oxford Street, Selfridges and of course, taking in a West End show or two. So now that my friend lives in London I get to see parts of the city that I wouldn’t really have known would be worth visiting if I didn’t have a local guide! Below are a few highlights from the weekend, all of which I’d recommend to anyone paying a visit to London.


David Bowie mural in Brixton

Brixton

My friend lives in this area so we spent most of our time here. I really like Brixton – there is a fun, cool vibe around the area and lots of great things to do. If you find yourself going out in Brixton for food and a few drinks I would highly recommend Brixton Village and Pop Brixton. There is a lot of great choices for food in the village and Pop Brixton is really cool space that has independent retailers, restaurants and bars to name a few. The layout of Pop Brixton is pretty unusual, as most of the bars and food places operate out of shipping containers. A very fun place to go for a few drinks on your night out!

Daisy green

Brunch in Daisy Green

We went for brunch in Daisy Green on Saturday morning and it was absolutely delicious! Quite healthy and it also filled us up before our busy day which was nice. The layout of the café is so nice, gorgeous flower details on the ceiling and a variety of funky chairs and stools at the tables made for really nice décor. My friend had to book us in for brunch as it’s a very popular spot, so just an FYI if you plan on going there.

FullSizeRender (6)

Cycling in Hyde Park

Hyde Park is obviously a very well-known spot in London, but I’ve never cycled around it before and I really enjoyed it. We rented a couple of the Santander bikes and got to check out a lot of the areas in the park, including Kensington Palace which was nice to see.

Notting Hill

Notting Hill

Again, another well-known area of London but a part I had never been to before. We went on Saturday afternoon so it was super busy with the market on, but getting to see what was on offer at the market was great. The houses there are all so pretty and painted in lots of nice different colours, so I think it would be a really nice place to check out on a quieter day as well.

Those would be my main highlights of my latest trip to London – I’m already looking forward to my next visit!

 

