Repeal

My Repeal the 8th tee arrived from The Hunreal Issues yesterday! I ordered this a couple of weeks ago as a small way of showing my support for repealing the Eighth Amendment of the Constitution of Ireland.

I strongly believe that Irish women should have the right to control their own reproductive rights. I love kids and hope to have babies of my own someday; if and when I do have children it will be mine and my partner’s choice. But if I found myself in a situation where I was pregnant and felt that I couldn’t continue with the pregnancy for whatever reason, in Ireland, even though it is MY body, I legally would not have a choice.

Having an abortion would undoubtedly be a tough decision for any woman to make. But I also think it is an extremely personal decision that needs to be decided by the woman who is pregnant, not prevented by the laws of the country she lives in. The World Health Organisation and Amnesty International support access to safe abortion and recently I read a report in The Irish Times on how the United Nations found that a woman who was carrying a foetus with a fatal abnormality was subjected to ‘discrimination and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment due to Ireland’s abortion ban’.

Irish women deserve to have autonomy over their own reproductive rights and to do this we need to repeal the Eighth Amendment. For anyone who wants to find out more about/support the Repeal the 8th movement, I think The Hunreal Issue’s website is a good place to start.

