This August Bank Holiday weekend a couple of friends and I headed to Galway for the races. We went on Saturday for just one night, it was a busy day but a lot of fun. I honestly don’t know how some people go to a few days of the festival, I was so tired on Sunday!

We did the Galway Races on a bit of a budget, so I thought I would share some of our day with you and the outfit that I wore, which also didn’t break the bank!

For those that aren’t familiar with the Galway Races, it’s one of the biggest racing festivals in Ireland and a top summer event. Galway is always extremely busy the week of the festival with a lot of hotels and B&Bs booked out months in advance. My friends and I only decided to go a couple of months ago so accommodation wasn’t easy to come by, especially at a reasonable price. We ended up staying in Corrib Village, which is student accommodation for NUI Galway that operates as a B&B in the summer. The rooms are university style apartments with single and double room options, with a shared kitchen and bathroom. As we only wanted a bed for the night and were out all day Corrib Village suited us very well. It cost us €50 each for the night, which was a great deal during the races. We also had our apartment to ourselves, so it was a nice extra not having to share the bathroom with anyone else.

FotorCreated

For my races outfit I chose a pleated black skirt from asos, a yellow cami from Topshop and light-pink suede shoes from Marks & Spencer (shoes and cami are only available in black on the respective websites, but both are still solid pieces for your wardrobe!). My fascinator and shawl were both from Dunnes Stores and were a bargain. I felt very comfy and well dressed for the day. Everything I wore I already owned and nothing was very expensive – overall my wardrobe on the day cost about €120. I also wore a lovely pair of pearl earrings and a bracelet I have from Newbridge Silverware. I realise that if people were attending Ladies Day they can spend hundreds on an amazing outfit, but for me my outfit suited me perfectly for the day and night!

After our day at the races we went to the King’s Head, a great spot in Galway for a fun night out and great live music, well worth a visit all year round! I also traded in my shawl for my floral bomber jacket from Zara, which I absolutely love and it still matched with my outfit, always a plus in my opinion 🙂

I hope you all had a great weekend, and enjoyed your Monday off for those that are on a Bank Holiday like myself!

